EFCC intercepts illegal oil dealers in Port Harcourt

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has announced the arrest of twelve (12) suspected illegal oil dealers and five oil tankers in Port Harcourt.

According to a statement on the commission’s Facebook page, the suspects were apprehended on Tuesday at the Nigeria Port Authority’s (NPA) premises in Onne, Rivers State.

READ: Nigerian senate confirms new EFCC board members

Sunday Ogbuji, Okereke Henry, Chijoke Sunday Sunshine, Anayo Egwatu, Nnana Jonah, Tambari Doneh, Atoyebi Taye, Baba Emmanuel, Chigoze Ikemefula, Uba Promise, Ekibor Ekele, and Ikechukwu Christian were named as suspects.

According to the EFCC, they were apprehended alongside five oil tankers bearing the registration numbers DEG 54 XS, BND 401 ZN, BGM 140 XA, UGH 553 XR, and AKD 238 XS.

It went on to say that the suspects would be charged in court soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.