NUJ elects new top officials (See Names)


Journalists across the country have elected a new set of leaders to lead the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) for another three years.

According to reports, Chris Isiguzo, the National President of the NUJ, was re-elected unopposed for another term in office.
Isiguzo was elected for the first time at the union’s sixth triennial delegates conference in Abeokuta in 2018.

Isiguzo was re-elected President of the union for another three years during the union’s 7th delegates conference in Umuahia, Abia State.

Three former NUJ Presidents, representatives from the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity, and the Deputy National President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Comrade Joe Ajaero, all witnessed the election.

Isiguzo received 665 votes from the 704 voters accredited to vote, while his opponent, Yusuf Idris, received only 15 votes, even though Idris had previously resigned.

22 ballots have been declared invalid.
Garba Muhammad, Chairman of the National Credentials Committee, declared Isiguzo, the election winner.

READ: NUJ mourns Ex-deputy director of radio Niger

Other unopposed national officers include Yahya Al-Hassan, Deputy National President and a former Vice President of B-Zone and ex-Ondo NUJ Chairman, and Barrister Dele Atunbi of NTA, Abuja, who was elected unopposed as National Treasurer.

Others include Samuel Dada of LTV, Lagos, who was elected without opposition as the National Financial Secretary, and Ladi Emmanuel, who has been appointed as the new National Internal Auditor.

According to our correspondent, the conference also elected six zonal vice presidents and zonal secretaries.

Former Ekiti NUJ Secretary/Vice Chairman Ronke Samo of Ekiti State’s NOA Chapel was re-elected as B-Zone Southwest’s first female Vice President. In contrast, Abdulrasaq Alege was re-elected as B-Zone Secretary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.