Two Anambra lawmakers exits PDP, joins APC

Two Anambra State House of Assembly members have defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC) (APC).

On Wednesday, Mr. Douglas Egbuna (Onitsha North l Constituency) and Mr. Onyebuchi Offor (Ekwusigo Constituency) announced their defection at a plenary session in Awka, according to NAN.

Offor, the Minority Leader in the House, revealed that he consulted extensively with his family and mentor before switching from the PDP to the APC.

It’s time for me to join the party at the center so that my constituents can feel and experience the presence of the ruling party,” he said.

READ ALSO: APGA lawmaker representing Abia state, Abraham Oba, Joins PDP

Egbuna also stated that he defected to the APC following numerous consultations.

Mr. Uche Okafor, Speaker of the House, congratulated the lawmakers and wished them success in their new party.

Last month, four lawmakers elected on the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) platform in the state Assembly defected to the APC.

Dr. Timothy Ifedioranma (Njikoka l), Carter Dike-Umeh (Aguata l), Mr. Smart Okafor (Nnewi North), and Mr. Lawrence Ezeudu are among the lawmakers (Dunukofia).

With the lawmakers’ defection, the APC now has six members, leaving the PDP with four, and the APGA has 20 members in the Assembly.

Also, during the plenary, lawmakers began the third reading and scrutiny of the Open Grazing of Cattle and Other Livestock Prohibition and Ranches Establishment Bill 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.